UCI WorldTour
English  |  Français  
Teams ▪
Home UCI WorldTour News Races Rankings Teams Pictures gallery

8, rue du Nant
1211 Genève
Tel: +39 030 913 0904
Fax: +39 030 913 0904
HENN Christian
(Sports Director)
PIVA Valerio
(Sports Director)
(Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
COZZI Claudio
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)

The Katusha team represents the Russian Global Cycling Project in the UCI WorldTour, with several important Russian industrial sponsors backing the team and its major budget with the goal of developing Russian riders for both the road and track.

Hans-Michael Holczer is the new team manager for 2012, taking over the reigns from Andre Tchmil and he has bolstered both the team’s management and the rider roster. The demise of the HTC-Slipstream team meant that several talented directeur sportifs were available and Holczer wisely secured the services of Valerio Piva, while former German sprinter Erik Zabel joins the team as sprint coach and special advisor. They are an efficient and modern thinking combination.

“I think we’ve had a good start to 2012, winning stages and also doing well overall,” Holczer explained. “Thanks to Valerio’s arrival, we started the season with a new approach that includes a lot more testing between races and a lot more analysis during races. I’m confident that we can overcome even bad luck and that the potential of the team is very good.”

New riders include veteran sprinter Oscar Freire and stage race star Denis Menchov. 2012 is likely to be Freire’s last season in the pro ranks but he is determined to go out on top and was a contender in all of the early season classics. Menchov is likely to focus on the Tour de France, where the long time trials suit his style of racing. He could become the first Russian rider to ever win the Tour de France.

Other team leaders include Joaquin Rodriguez, Luca Paolini, Vladimir Gusev, emerging sprinter Denis Galimzyanov, and constant attacker and track rider Mikhail Ignatiev. 13 of the riders are from Russia, including promising young riders Maxim Belkov, Petr Ignatenko, Timofey Kritskiy. Germany’s Rudriger Selig, Aleksander Kristoff of Norway, Gatis Smukulis of Latvia and Slovenia’s Simon Spilak are all future talents who have yet to emerge.
BELKOV Maxim RUS 09.01.1985
BRUTT Pavel RUS 29.01.1982
CARUSO Giampaolo ITA 15.08.1980
FLORENCIO CABRE Xavier ESP 26.12.1979
FREIRE GOMEZ Oscar ESP 15.02.1976
GUSEV Vladimir RUS 04.07.1982
IGNATENKO Petr RUS 27.09.1987
ISAICHEV Vladimir RUS 21.04.1986
KRISTOFF Alexander NOR 05.07.1987
KRITSKIY Timofey RUS 24.01.1987
KUSCHYNSKI Aliaksandr BLR 27.10.1979
LOSADA ALGUACIL Alberto ESP 28.02.1982
MORENO FERNANDEZ Daniel ESP 05.09.1981
PAOLINI Luca ITA 17.01.1977
PORSEV Alexander RUS 21.02.1986
RODRIGUEZ OLIVER Joaquin ESP 12.05.1979
SELIG Rudiger GER 19.02.1989
SMUKULIS Gatis LAT 15.04.1987
SPILAK Simon SLO 23.06.1986
TROFIMOV Yury RUS 26.01.1984
TSATEVITCH Alexey RUS 05.07.1989
VANTOMME Maxime BEL 08.03.1986
VICIOSO ARCOS Angel ESP 13.04.1977
VORGANOV Eduard RUS 07.12.1982
HALLER Marco AUT 01.04.1991
  Contacts  Links