UCI WorldTour
English  |  Français  
Teams ▪
Home UCI WorldTour News Races Rankings Teams Pictures gallery

Riis Cycling A/S
Firskovvej 36
2800 Kgs Lyngby
Tel: +45 88 13 6000
Fax: +45 9716 8480
RIIS Bjarne
(Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
MAUDUIT Philippe
(Ass. Sports Director)
MCGEE Bradley
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)

Denmark’s one ProTeam, Saxo Bank boasts a plethora of experienced Grand Tour veterans, sprinters and Classics riders likely to snatch victories under almost and any race scenario.

Denmark’s national road-race champion for the last two years, Nicki Sorensen, is just one example of Saxo Bank’s rich vein of talent. Now in his twelfth year with the same squad directed by Bjarne Riis, the 36-year-old has taken stages in the Tour de France (2009) and the Vuelta a España (2005) as well as four national titles.

Portugal’s Sergio Paulinho has a very similar curriculum vitae: a stage win in the Tour de France (2010), another in the Vuelta a España (2006) and a former national champion - in his case, time trialing. Like Sorensen, Paulinho, an Olympic silver medalist back in 2004, can never be ruled out.

And the list goes on... also in Saxo Bank’s roster for 2012 are Italian all-rounder Matteo Tosatto, Ardennes Classics specialist Karsten Kroon, 2010 Giro d’Italia mountain stage winner Chris Anker Sorensen and 2011 Tour of Flanders winner Nick Nuyens. All are highly experienced veterans whose rivals underestimate them at their peril.

Another top name is Argentina’s top sprinter J.J. Haedo, winner of a Vuelta a España stage last year in a very complicated bunch sprint finish, and more than capable of picking up victories in other lesser events.

As a manager, Riis has carved out a reputation for an aggressive strategic racing style, and there can be doubting Riis has a line-up with the right kind of experience needed to complement that. For example, Nick Nuyens showed he was finally in his ideal team environment last year in the Tour of Flanders where he took the biggest victory of his career. In 2012, some equally impressive victories for Saxo Bank are all but guaranteed.
BOARO Manuele ITA 03.12.1987
CANTWELL Jonathan AUS 08.01.1982
CHRISTENSEN Mads DEN 06.04.1984
CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto ESP 06.12.1982
HAEDO Juan José ARG 26.01.1981
HAEDO Lucas Sebastian ARG 18.04.1983
JÖRGENSEN Jonas Aaen DEN 20.04.1986
JUUL JENSEN Christopher DEN 06.07.1989
KROON Karsten NED 29.01.1976
LUND Anders DEN 14.02.1985
MARGALIOT Ran ISR 18.07.1988
MARYCZ Jaroslaw POL 17.04.1987
MIYAZAWA Takashi JPN 27.02.1978
MORKOV Michael DEN 30.04.1985
NAVARRO GARCIA Daniel ESP 18.07.1983
NOVAL GONZALEZ Benjamin ESP 23.01.1979
NUYENS Nick BEL 05.05.1980
PAULINHO Sergio Miguel Moreira POR 26.03.1980
PIRES Bruno POR 15.05.1981
ROBERTS Luke AUS 25.01.1977
SÖRENSEN Nicki DEN 14.05.1975
SÖRENSEN Chris Anker DEN 05.09.1984
TANNER David AUS 30.09.1984
TOSATTO Matteo ITA 14.05.1974
VINTHER Troels Ronning DEN 24.02.1987
MAJKA Rafal POL 12.09.1989
  Contacts  Links