UCI WorldTour
English  |  Français  
Teams ▪
Home UCI WorldTour News Races Rankings Teams Pictures gallery

Continuum Sports LLC/BMC Racing Team
1825 Ferdinand Court / Unit B
95404 Santa Rosa CA
Tel: +1 707 542 5462
Fax: +1 707 542 5399
(General Manager)
(Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
SCIANDRI Maximilian
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)
(Ass. Sports Director)

The UCI WorldTour consists of the best 18 team in men’s professional cycling and the BMC Racing Team is rightly known as one of the sports super teams.

The USA-registered, Swiss-based squad includes 2011 Tour de France winner Cadel Evans, the world’s number one ranked rider and multiple classics winner Philippe Gilbert and 2010 world road race champion Thor Hushovd.

Evans became the first Australian to ever win the Tour de France, completing a long and often difficult transformation from a cross-country mountain biker that began in 2001. The multi-talented rider has overcome major crashes and disappointed to win in France and will naturally focus on a second win in 2012.

Gilbert had a difficult start to 2012 but he is also hoping to again impress in the hilly classics thanks to his tactical skills and fast finish. He must be the number-one favourite for the 2012 world road race title that ends on the Cauberg climb, not for from his home in Belgian Ardennes.

Hushovd was deeply disappointed not to win Paris-Roubaix while wearing the world champion’s rainbow jersey in 2011 and will again target the cobbled roads of northern France this year. As he proved during the Tour de France, he is also a prolific stage winner and so should never be overlooked, even if the terrain does not initially suit his powerful build.

BMC is also building for the future with a mix of experienced veteran and talented young riders. The USA’s Tejay Van Garderen has joined compatriot Taylor Phinney at the BMC Racing Team and British sprinter Adam Blythe continues to progress and pick up speed. Van Garderen impressed in stage races last year and is tipped as a possible future American Tour de France winner. He showed his potential in this year’s Paris-Nice by winning the best young rider’s white jersey.

Mentoring this plethora of young talent are George Hincapie –who will be hoping to set a new record of finishing his 17th Tour de France, and Italian role model and Giro d’Italia contender Marco Pinotti. Other riders that ensure the red and black BMC Racing Team jersey is also in the thick of racing action include Manuel Quinziato, Alessandro Ballan, Marcus Burghardt, new-signing Stephen Cummings and Greg Van Avermaet.
BALLAN Alessandro ITA 06.11.1979
BLYTHE Adam GBR 01.10.1989
BOOKWALTER Brent USA 16.02.1984
BURGHARDT Marcus GER 30.06.1983
CUMMINGS Stephen GBR 19.03.1981
EVANS Cadel AUS 14.02.1977
FRANK Mathias SUI 09.12.1986
GILBERT Philippe BEL 05.07.1982
HINCAPIE George USA 29.06.1973
HUSHOVD Thor NOR 18.01.1978
KOHLER Martin SUI 17.07.1985
LODEWYCK Klaas BEL 24.03.1988
MOINARD Amaël FRA 02.02.1982
MORABITO Steve SUI 30.01.1983
PINOTTI Marco ITA 25.02.1976
QUINZIATO Manuel ITA 30.10.1979
SANTAMBROGIO Mauro ITA 07.10.1984
SANTAROMITA Ivan ITA 30.04.1984
SCHÄR Michael SUI 29.09.1986
TSCHOPP Johann SUI 01.07.1982
VAN AVERMAET Greg BEL 17.05.1985
VAN GARDEREN Tejay USA 12.08.1988
WYSS Danilo SUI 26.08.1985
EIJSSEN Yannick BEL 26.06.1989
PHINNEY Taylor USA 27.06.1990
ROE Thimothy AUS 28.10.1989
  Contacts  Links